Provincial Entrepreneurship Visa

Immigration programs targeting entrepreneurs who can contribute to the economic development of the Provinces through a new business venture or by investing in an existing firm. In case of buying shares, the minimum share purchase amount is 33.33%.


Types of trades, program conditions, equity and investment amounts vary by provinces and territories. As it is known, there are 10 Provinces and 3 Territories in Canada which have their own special immigration programs.


These are as follows:

Provincial Entrepreneurship Visa


  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Quebec
  • Saskatchewan
  • Northwest Territories
  • Yukon
  • Nanavut


The vast majority of entrepreneurial immigration programs under the provincial nomination immigration program require the entrepreneur to come to Canada to act as a manager and provide employment if the application is approved. At the same time, presenting a detailed business plan regarding the commercial area in which the venture is made and having managerial experience in the near term are among the basic conditions.


Although the amount of investment required varies from province to province, which starts from $150,000 CAD. This amount is even higher in provinces with high investment demand, such as Ontario. Using the determined amount for investment alone is not sufficient, and the net worth of the person must be above a certain amount. In many states, a work permit is given to the person in the first place and the right to apply for a permanent residence permit is granted after the workplace has been operated for a certain period of time (varies by province).


Additionally, some provinces allow international graduates who graduated from the designated learning institutions in their provinces, to be accepted into this immigration program without seeking any minimum investment amount.